Inaugural Meeting

“The first meeting of the Library Association of Trinidad and Tobago took place at Federal House on 16th January, 1960.

In attendance were representatives from the Federal Library, Legal Library, Trinidad Public Library, S. & W.W.T.U., Presentation College, Carnegie Free Library, Central Library, Caroni Estates Ltd., Antigua Public Library, I.C.T.A., Readers and Writers Guild, Abbey School, British Council, Tranquillity Girls’ School, T. & T.E.C., Muir Marshall, Forest Dept., Agriculture Dept., Caribbean Commission and other interested persons.”

Source: [Minutes of] Inaugural Meeting, Library Association of Trinidad and Tobago (Library Association of Trinidad & Tobago, 1960?).


The Library Association of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) was incorporated by Act No. 11 of 1985, which was assented to on 21st March, 1985. Click here to view a copy (.pdf) of LATT’s Act of Incorporation.

Year(s)Name of President
2019 – PresentMs. Beverly Ann Williams
2017 – 2019Mrs. Juliet Glenn-Callendar
2015 – 2017Mr. Selwyn Rodulfo
2013 – 2015Mr. Selwyn Rodulfo
2011 – 2013Ms. Karen Campbell
2009 – 2011Ms. Elmelinda Lara
2007 – 2009Ms. Elmelinda Lara
2005 – 2007Dr. Lillibeth S.V. Ackbarali
2003 – 2005Mrs. Ernesta Greenidge
2001 – 2003Mrs. Gemma Lashley-Crichton
1999 – 2001Ms. Brenda James
1997 – 1999Mr. Esahack Mohammed
1993 – 1997Ms. Jennifer Joseph
1991 – 1993Ms. Janice Blake
1989 – 1991Mrs. Angela Bernard
1985 – 1989Mr. Esahack Mohammed
1983 – 1985Mrs. Eaulin Blondel
1981 – 1983Mrs. Vere Achong
1979 – 1981Mrs. Yvonne Bobb
1975 – 1977Mrs. Irma Hannays
1973 – 1975Ms. Ursula Raymond
1971 – 1973Mrs. Lynette Hutchinson
1969 – 1971Ms. Ursula Raymond
1967 – 1969Ms. Yvonne Bobb
1966Ms. Marjorie Lumsden
1965Mr. Hamlyn Dukhan
1964Ms. Marjorie Lumsden
1962 – 1963Dr. Alma Jordan
1960 – 1961Mr. Ronald Benge

The Constitution of the Library Association of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) outlines the composition of the Executive Board and the roles and responsibilities of each Officer of the Board. Please refer to pages 10- 12 of the Constitution for guidelines on the formation and operation of a Special Interest Group.